Heisman & National Championship

I thought that winning the Heisman Trophy was like a curse because Heisman winners lose the national championship game. Apparently I was wrong because Leinart accomplished the feat pretty recently and it has happened 11 times. On the other hand, Jason White laid an egg in 2003 Championship when he won the Heisman, and tonight Sam Bradford wasn’t nearly as good as the rest of the season. Maybe it is just when Oklahoma quarterbacks win the Heisman, then they won’t win a championship…

National Championship and Heisman in the Same Year
Year Name School
1938Davey O’BrienTCU Horned Frogs
1941Bruce SmithMinnesota Golden Gophers
1943Angelo BertelliNotre Dame Fighting Irish
1945Doc BlanchardArmy Black Knights
1947John LujackNotre Dame Fighting Irish
1949Leon HartNotre Dame Fighting Irish
1976Tony DorsettPittsburgh Panthers
1993Charlie WardFlorida State Seminoles
1996Danny WuerffelFlorida Gators
1997Charles WoodsonMichigan Wolverines
2004Matt LeinartUSC Trojans
Source: Associated Content, Past Heisman Winners, Past National Champions